Speaking of old friends…

Last week I got an email from a man I dated when we were both in high school. It wasn’t serious dating, we were good friends and enjoyed each others’ company. I have many fond memories of our times together, hanging out, waterskiing, going to the zoo… and when he left for college and I had demons pushing me in other directions, we lost contact. And then… all these years later… I get an email.

We’ve been corresponding a little bit since, catching up on each other’s lives, and it reminds me again that relationships happen outside of time. When I see my cousins after many years, we pick up–literally–right where we left off. No time has passed in our friendships, regardless of our outward appearances and the changes that have taken place as time moves us along.

So what is it that we share between us that transcends time? And whatever it is, does it endure to death–and beyond?

To you, Richard: we may  never lay eyes on one another again except via emailed photographs, but know that you’re in my heart. Always have been, always will be.

Leave a comment

Filed under connections, Friends, relationships, time, years

Leave a Reply

