Personality types

It only makes sense that there are a limited number of personality “types” in the world. We live in an orderly universe, after all. Astrology would have us believe there are twelve. According to the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, there are sixteen. The Enneagram says there are nine.

Last weekend I took a class in the Myers-Briggs (I’m an INFJ) and in the Enneagram (I’m a 7), and was stunned to speechlessness at how accurate they both were in talking about me. I’m also a Taurus, and that profile fits like a glove, too, all of them different, yet surprisingly undeniable. 

Some people are distressed when they discover that they conform to a certain type, others find comfort in it.

I like it.

I like seeing my strengths and weaknesses from the point of view of an impartial observer. I like seeing my  husband’s natural traits spelled out for me in a book, and from now on, I’ll react differently to some of the things he does and says because I know those things are in his nature. I don’t try to change him, and we don’t fight, but I do my share of eye-rolling. That will stop now that I understand him better.

The Urantia Book says that the key to loving our neighbors is understanding them. I came a long way toward that this weekend, and had yet one more gut-level validation about the exquisite architecture of this magnificent universe in which we live.   

3 Comments

Filed under connections, Personalities, The Urantia Book

3 responses to “Personality types

  1. Rachel

    there’s a free resource at http://www.INFJ.com

  2. Cap'n Crusty

    In order to present more than one side: http://www.skepdic.com/myersb.html

  3. rakkav

    Man, how is it that INFJs are so disproportionately represented in the people I know or contact? It boggles my mind. (I’m an INTJ, and a 5 on the Enneagram.)

    Your link was “automatically generated” in relationship to mine, I followed the link, and so here I am. I’ve been posting several blogs related to the MBTI, and one this morning on the Enneagram.

Leave a Reply

