What a difference a site makes

I have a new webpage. The address is the same: www.elizabethengstrom.com, but the page is worlds away from the one that was up yesterday morning.

I wrote my first website in HTML. It was basic indeed. Then I got a copy of Microsoft’s Front Page and did another. Did two others, in fact, one for me and one for my independent press. I got pretty good with Front Page, but it had some weirdnesses that I could never figure out. Didn’t have the patience. And so my web presence had all the content I wanted, but looked kind of schizophrenic, with all the fonts and colors and total lack of design.

And then Pam Herber, long time friend and excruciatingly good writer, started designing web pages, so I commissioned her to redo my sad site. After a couple of weeks of back-and-forth, she pushed the button yesterday and her fresh design went live.

I couldn’t be happier. The site now is streamlined, homogenized, artful and pertinent. Personally, I think she’s brilliant. It might look a little weird if you’ve not updated your browser recently, so you should do that. You should do that anyway.

So thanks, Pam. This fresh web presence makes me feel more professional.

2 Comments

Filed under Friends

2 responses to “What a difference a site makes

  1. oh

    I did look at the site – excellent! Next, will check out one of your books. Um, but, could I have the summer off, please? I am sooo behind on reading. And on writing.

  2. Liz,

    The site looks great! I love that there’s actually a Table of Contents! Sooo….is your friend available for freelance work…eh hem…should I need a website in the future? 🙂

    Hope all is well! xo, Lisa

Leave a Reply

