A Kiss for William Shatner’s Cheek

The title of this blog is the result of a dream. I woke up and knew that I had just dreamed the best book title ever thought up by mankind. I turned on the nightstand light, wrote it down and went back to sleep believing that I was on the verge of being rich and famous, because I had the best book title ever. When I woke up in the morning, I couldn’t wait to read what I had written and it was… as you can see…

We won’t go into the number of times (per month) that I dream about William Shatner, nor how many decades that has been going on. It always amazes me. And I have no idea why. The last dream in which he had a starring role (usually, he’s just lurking somewhere in the background) he was a rodeo clown and we were at a betting track. I was hiding in the ladies’ room trying to ditch him, and every time I peeked out the door, there he was, practicing his rope tricks.

Please don’t try to psychoanalyze me by this.

But next Monday night is the series finale for Boston Legal and my–hmmm… not grief, more like bitchiness–over that is ameliorated only by the fact that he debuted his new interview show, Shatner’s Raw Nerve, last night on the Biography Channel. He interviewed both Valerie Bertinelli and Tim Allen, and I thought he did a great job, pulling out some important, uncomfortable things from each star, making for good viewing. He’s interested, not in the usual star stuff, but in real stuff. And I liked that.

Shatner’s getting older — aren’t we all? — and some day he’ll retire from public life. That will be a sad day for me, as he somehow feels like my big brother. Until then, I promise to stay a fan, never to stalk him, and today, I’m honoring his brilliant work on Boston Legal with a cyber kiss on the cheek.

2 Comments

Filed under dreams

2 responses to “A Kiss for William Shatner’s Cheek

  1. capncrusty

    I once dreamed I was stuck in a red-and-mauve neon-lit car wash in Amarillo with Charlie Gibson and the cast of “Oliver!” for three days during a rampaging, city-wide pillow fight between the St Louis Cardinals and my mom’s side of the family, while flocks of turnips hovered overhead taking pictures. I told this to a shrink one time; he’s still in therapy.

  2. This is too funny! He should be a character in your space opera!

Leave a Reply

