The Year of Tao

Last year I named my year “Hesed,” the Hebrew word for lovingkindness. Upon reflection, I believe I made good progress in that area. I want to be less cynical, more forgiving, and I think I am, at least a touch.

This year I’ve dubbed “The Year of Tao.” I’m studying Taoism in school, and am amazed, amused and delighted by it, especially the part where the books tell you that this is one “religion” (I don’t think of it as a religion) which you cannot study by observing it. You have to be Taoist. You have to do Taoism. Only then can you understand it.

So I’ve got a translation of the Tao Te Ching on my nightstand, and am reading every night. Some of it makes no sense, and I’m not sure if that is the product of this translation, the aggregate of 2500 years of translations, or concepts too advanced for my poor brain.

Several years ago, I wrote an essay called “Living in the Slipstream,” and it was all about cruising with life rather than trying to swim across the current and banging on the rocks. Little did I know then that I was talking about Taoism.

So 2009 is the Year of the Tao.

This is a good thing, naming the year. It gives life a modicum of generalized focus, if you know what I mean.

2 Comments

Filed under goals, Social Consciousness, years

2 responses to “The Year of Tao

  1. capncrusty

    I have named my new year “Eric”. What? It’s a nice name.

  2. Mike Ferruggia

    Hi Liz. Congratulations on this being the year of Tao!. I recommend you also get the I Ching, or Book of Changes, to go along with the Tao De Ching. It’s filled with taoist principles, and you don’t have to use it as a “divination” tool, but more as self discovery and for contemplation of ideas.

Leave a Reply

