Well. Wasn’t that something?

I admit I wept when Chief Justice Roberts said, “Congratulations, Mr. President.”

The entire event, from start to finish, filled me with such a sense of pride to be an American. As Aretha Franklin sang, I thought about all the bloody and bloodless coups that have taken place all over the world, throughout history, throwing governments and their people into turmoil. We have our own turmoil, it’s true, but that isn’t part of it. That “peaceful transfer of power” that the talking heads continually refer to should never be taken for granted, not by any of us, not for one moment.

And now I chuckle as every moment of the new administration is watched over. His first dance with the first lady. His first official signature. His first cabinet meeting. The girls’ first sleepover. It reminds me of new parents watching their baby. Its first yawn. Its first smile. Its first step. 

Very sweet.

But I’m ready for some meat now. The festivities are important, but let’s get down to business. I think Obama is a guy who tolerates the pomp and circumstance well because he understands how important pageantry sometimes is, but I think he is just as eager to get to work.

Let’s all wish him well, give him the benefit of the doubt, and leave him alone for the next 100 days, and let him do what he said he would.

2 Comments

Filed under Goodness, peace, politics, Possibilities

2 responses to “Well. Wasn’t that something?

  1. serendipity hopeful

    Congratulations to President Obama and to all Americans.The peaceful and orderly transition of power is something you can rightly be proud of. Your ability to self-correct through the various stages of your nation’s history augur well for your future.

    As a foreigner who wants good things to happen in any and all parts of the world, I wish Americans will work more in harmony with their president. How successful Obama can be as American president will depend on how well his fellow-Americans can rein in their demands for their expectations to be satisfied.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/inauguration-and-high-hopes/

    Keep the hopes alive.

  2. capncrusty

    I made a vow that I’d give him six months criticism-free, and I’m sticking to it; I do that with every new President, even EX-PRESIDENT G W BUSH (I love that “ex-” part). That’s gotta be a relief to President Obama, knowing he won’t have to contend with me right away. But I’m also not going to heap on the praise until he shows me he deserves it. Unless of course he does something completely outrageous, like declaring war on Malta or, conversely, getting single-payer all-inclusive national health CARE passed. Then, he’ll either get a “nay!” from me for the former, or a “yay!” for the latter.

    That aside, I have to admit in all honesty that this old cynic was pretty moved to hear the words “Ladies and Gentlemen, the President of the United States”, and the guy that steps up isn’t some old white hack. And during the Oath of Office, it was the Chief Justice that flubbed his lines, not the new Chief Exec. Now THERE’s a switch.

Leave a Reply

