The Best Zucchini Bread

I’m a gardener, so I grow zucchini. Lots of it.  More than we can eat, and I have lots of zucchini recipes, but I’ve never found the consummate zucchini bread recipe until now. This one is good. This one may be the best ever. I may stop searching.

It comes from Rockford, Illinois, and is the generously-shared, blue-ribbon-winning recipe of Britt-Marie Knoblock.

To be fair, I did not include the pecans, and I used olive oil instead of canola or other vegetable oil. The rest is as written.

Zucchini bread

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons orange juice
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
4 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups zucchini, shredded
1 cup chopped pecans

Directions: In a bowl, combine the orange juice, oil, applesauce, eggs and vanilla. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cinnamon, powder, salt and soda. Mix well.

Add the orange juice mixture; stir until just combined. Fold in the zucchini and pecans. Pour the batter into two 8-inch by 4-inch by 2-inch loaf pans coated with nonstick cooking spray.

Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes, then remove from pans to wire racks to cool.

Enjoy the zucchini season!

1 Comment

Filed under Gardening, Summer

One response to “The Best Zucchini Bread

  1. Lisa

    A writer’s world
    A glimpse of God
    Here upon earth’s rough sod

    With grateful hearts
    Our prayers are said
    As we grace his table
    Spirit lead

    Joining hands
    Joining hearts
    With all that God
    Given dreams impart

    With grateful hearts
    Our prayers are said
    Even thanking God for
    Zucchini Bread

    Hi…. I’m a writer too….from Canada and I traveled to your site while searching for tips and add ins for zucchini bread.
    I was inspired to write by the name of your site…. A writer’s world…..
    I looked over the recipe and then I decided to add a comment.
    I wrote a bit and then read something in the ‘about me’ part of your site.
    I’m a writer too, a Christian songwriter. I’m also working on a series of novels. I’m not a published writer yet but, I will be!
    Thanks for the recipe. God bless you…

Leave a Reply

